Deerhaven is located in Llano County on the shores of Lake LBJ, one of the six beautiful Highland Lakes, created in the 1950’s by a series of dams built on the Colorado River. Originally named Lake Granite Shoals, it was later re-named for President Lyndon B. Johnson, who was a frequent visitor to the Lake during and after his Presidency.

Platted in 1964 as a three-unit subdivision (later merged into one unit), Deerhaven encompasses 352 lots. There are now nearly one hundred homes in the subdivision, which are almost equally divided in ownership between full-time permanent residences and second home “weekend retreats”. The subdivision is self-governed by an elected seven member Board of Directors and its officers, all of whom strive to maintain the restrictions and by-laws of Deerhaven in order to keep up and improve our subdivision wherever possible to protect our property values.


Deerhaven owns its private park with a swimming pool, a basket ball court, a boat launch ramp, a restroom, a pavilion and picnic facilities. These amenities are available for the sole use of Deerhaven property owners and their invited guests. Volunteerism is a vital part of the maintenance and beautification of Deerhaven. Many of the full-time residents are retired and enjoy being involved in neighborhood improvement projects. Not only has this spirit of cooperation helped keep the annual dues to a minimum, but also it has fostered camaraderie among neighbors and friends.

You are welcome to become a part of our small, beautiful subdivision that is progressive, yet “laid back” and blessed by many fine and friendly, fun-loving people. We sincerely believe that when we say “Welcome to Deerhaven”, we are really saying “Welcome Home”!